Clean Eating – Thai Turkey Zucchini Meatballs

These were really good.  A friend on FB posted this recipe a while ago and I finally got around to trying.  It calls for spice, but I left it out in the hopes the kids would like it since it has zucchini in it and that is one veggie they don’t like.  No such luck. Oh well more for me! I will be enjoying these all week!

A couple things. I thought I had red curry paste but turns out mine was green.  No biggie, they were still great, BUT I do think they would be better with red.  I was able to use more paste though since the green isn’t really spicy (I used about 1/4 cup). I definitely used more garlic than it called for. I mean more garlic can never be bad right?!  The main thing though – you MUST salt the ground turkey when you add the other ingredients. I really can’t recall a time I didn’t salt meat. This would be REALLY bland otherwise. I typically always use sea salt. I am not exactly sure how much I used, I am not a big measurer unless baking.  But I would say definitely 1 TBSP, probably a little more for turkey as opposed to ground beef.  The other thing is, make sure to really get the water out of the zucchini. I peeled mine, but you can leave the skin on if you like.  I have a small colander and I grated it right into there. Then I used my hands to press all the water out.  When you make these into meatballs, they will be sticky and seem like they won’t hold together like when you make regular meatballs. That is because there is no breadcrumbs in it, which is why I love it though.  No gluten!  Once you fry them up a bit, they hold together fine.  Make sure to keep turning them though and get all the sides browned. I actually think these would have been great with some curry powder added also.  Next time.

You could serve this an an appetizer, or for dinner over rice if you wish!  Enjoy!

http://ifoodreal.com/30-minute-clean-thai-turkey-zucchini-meatballs/

image1 (1)

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Main Course, Turkey and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

