The only prime rib recipe you’ll ever need!

I searched a ton of recipes and read a ton of reviews before choosing this one.  The cooking style of this really intrigued me (a high temp the whole time), but I was also hesitant because when you buy an expensive piece of meat, you want it to turn out perfectly.  I’ve accidentally overcooked filet and leg of lamb in the past before and it makes me so mad!!  So I watched over this like a hawk.  If you don’t have a digital meat thermometer that stays in the meat while it cooks, I strongly encourage you to get one.  Timing the meat based on xx minutes per pound doesn’t always work.  When I read reviews I generally only pick recipes that have a much higher percentage of good reviews (as I am sure most do).  So if there are 10 reviews and 5 are bad, skip.  The recipe I chose for this had 197 reviews and I think only 10 were bad.  It came out AMAZING.  The inside was incredibly juicy and the outside was crispy and delicious.  However, since none of the juice leaves the meat during cooking, you won’t have drippings to make au jus if that matters to you.  I served it with horseradish sauce.

My prime rib was 4.5 pounds (2 ribs) and to get the perfect medium rare, I took it out of the oven at 138 degrees, covered it in aluminum, and let it rest for 25 minutes.  This took about 90 minutes from when I put it in the oven until I sliced it.  The ends were crispy and medium well and though I hate any meat cooked past medium, these ends were so tasty!  This size was enough for 4-5 people.

This is the recipe I used if anyone is interested in reading the reviews and the reasoning behind the flour coating.  I am actually going to do this with my leg of lamb for Easter.  I did change the spices that went into it though.  You can pretty much use any spices you like!   http://allrecipes.com/recipe/restaurant-style-prime-rib-roast/

Ingredients:

  1. 1 4-5 pound bone-in prime rib roast
  2. 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  3. 1 TBSP freshly ground sea salt
  4. 2 tsp freshly ground pepper
  5. 2 tsp horseradish powder
  6. 1 TBSP rosemary, minced
  7. 2 tsp hot Hungarian paprika
  8. 10-15 slivers of fresh sliced garlic

Directions:

  1. Remove prime rib from refrigerator and allow the meat to come to room temperature, approximately 2 hours, but could be more depending on the size of roast.
  2. Preheat oven to 425º. Line a roasting pan with aluminum foil.
  3. Unwrap the roast and place onto roasting pan; blot with paper towels to ensure it’s very dry.
  4. Using a very sharp knife, make as many small slits all over the roast as garlic slivers you have.  Insert the garlic into the roast.
  5. Sift together flour and spices into a small bowl.  Heavily coat the roast all over with the flour mixture making sure to get it in all the crevices.
  6. Roast in preheated oven until your desired degree of doneness – http://whatscookingamerica.net/Information/MeatTemperatureChart.htm

So I was so excited to eat this I forgot to take a pic LOL!!!!!!!  This one looks so similar though.  How good does this look?????  I am drooling again.

PrimeRibWhole

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Beef, Main Course and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The only prime rib recipe you’ll ever need!

  1. Pingback: Prime Rib on the Grill | RecipeFirst

  2. The Center says:

    Sounds delish! I heard it was!! Wish I was there to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

