Yummy weeknight baked cod with ginger and cilantro

You think you can’t cook healthy, quick, AND delicious on weeknights?  WRONG!  I found this recipe on Pinterest, though it uses tilapia and I like cod better.  Cod is a much meatier fish.  Tilapia, for me, is too flimsy and doesn’t seem to hold any flavors well.  This cod came out REALLY delicious – the flavors sort of pop in your mouth.  This is a keeper!  The recipe comes from thekitchn.com but I made some modifications.  I had 1.2 lbs of cod and it was enough for 2 adults and 2 kids with a piece leftover.  You can prep this AND eat within 30 minutes.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb (or more) of cod
  • Sea salt and freshly ground pepper
  • Large handful fresh cilantro, stems removed (the recipe calls for 1/3 cup chopped – I didn’t measure this.  I just took approx 1/4 of a small bunch of cilantro)
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 4 slices fresh ginger, peeled
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeds removed (optional)
  • 1/4 cup white wine (I used white cooking wine)
  • 2 TBSP soy sauce
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • Chopped scallions for garnish

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 450°
  • Lay fish down in glass baking dish and season with salt & pepper.
  • Put cilantro, garlic, ginger, jalapeno, white wine, soy sauce, and sesame oil in food processor (I have a mini one) or blender and pulse until chunks are gone.  Do not OVER blend and make it soupy.  Let stand for 5 minutes; it will thicken up just a bit.

IMG_2700[1]

  • Using a spoon, coat the fish really well with this mixture.  The mixture will be thicker on top than underneath.  Make sure to pull out any thicker areas of the mixture and press that into the fish. 
  • Bake for 15 minutes (I actually did an additional 2 minutes on broil also).  Cod takes longer to cook than tilapia since it’s thicker.  Garnish with thinly sliced scallions.

YUM!!!

IMG_2701[1]

I served this with roasted garlic quinoa (yes, it’s boxed, but it’s healthy and it’s a weeknight!) and steamed broccoli with sea salt and lemon.  PERFECT!

IMG_2702[1]

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Fish, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

