Truly fabulous veggie “lasagna”

I sort of modeled this off a few different recipes I found on the internet so I am calling this one my own creation (though I am sure there are hundreds out there).  I really wasn’t sure how this would turn out but honestly, it was unbelievably good.  Even veggie “haters” would like this.  It’s so healthy and nutritious too.  If your family won’t eat it as a main dish, make it as a side dish, and you will have yummy leftovers!  You need about 30 minutes prep time for this.

Ingredients:

  • 2 med to large eggplant, tops and bottoms cut off, peeled (optional), and sliced lengthwise (pics to follow)
  • 3 zucchini, tops and bottoms cut off, sliced lengthwise
  • 2 portobello mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 large tomatoes, sliced

Everything but the eggplant here:

IMG_2541[1]

  • 1 TBSP dried basil (can of course use fresh if you have it)
  • 1 TBSP dried oregano
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 6 cloves garlic, crushed or chopped
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • Parmesan cheese (either freshly grated or shredded from the cheese section, not Kraft in a can)
  • Panko bread crumbs
  • Sea salt and freshly ground pepper

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 375º.  Spray a baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray, lay eggplant down, season with salt and pepper, and bake for 8 minutes on each side.  I use an olive oil mister to lightly spray the eggplant on the side I plan to season.  If you don’t have one, lightly brush it with olive oil.

IMG_2540[1]

  • Spray a 9×13 pan with non-stick cooking spray.  Lay zucchini down to cover the bottom and season with salt and pepper.

IMG_2542[1]

  • For the next layer spread out the portobello mushrooms.  Mix the herbs together, drizzle the mushrooms with the olive oil, sprinkle the herbs, and sprinkle a very thin layer of parm cheese.

IMG_2543[1]

  • Next layer the eggplant, followed by the tomato.  Add another dash of salt and pepper, top with more parm cheese, followed by panko bread crumbs to cover it.
  • Pop in the oven for 45 minutes or until the top is nice and brown/crispy!

I could have sworn I took a picture of the finished meal, but I guess not.  I’m sorry!  This is what it will look like pre-parm & panko.

IMG_2545[1]

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Side Dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

