Not your average (boring) chili!

I’ve been experimenting with chili for years and this is the only way I can eat it now.  Once you try this you will never go back to plain ground beef chili!  I actually measured my spices for you yesterday because I know some people are uncomfortable with “just throw some spices in” and that’s how I often cook.  I am glad I did though because it was too spicy for my husband, so now I can cut back on the chipotle.  This wasn’t too spicy for me though, it had the perfect amount of  spice actually.  This makes enough for a pretty large crowd (I would say 10-12 people).  I also make it for 4-6 and freeze the rest.  The prep time was about 30 minutes.

Ingredients:

  • 1 28 oz can petite diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 14.5 oz can fire roasted diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 1 can red kidney beans, drained
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 carrots, diced very small (I like to add a little something to this that people don’t really notice but is healthy ha)
  • 10 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 package ground pork (anywhere from .5 – 1 lb)
  • 1 package andouille sausage, sliced and then sliced in half again (pic below)
  • 1 lb sirloin steak, cut into small cubes
  • 1 TBSP chili powder
  • 1 TBSP chipotle chili powder
  • 1 TBSP cumin
  • 1 TBSP paprika
  • 2 tsp Hungarian hot paprika
  • 2 tsp garlic salt
  • Seat salt and fresh ground pepper
  • 2 TBSP butter
  • 2 TBSP cocoa powder (trust me)

This is what your meat should look like and also a shot of the andouille sausage I use:

IMG_2536[1]

Shot of the sausage after it’s cut:

IMG_2538[1]

Directions:

  • Using a large dutch oven (oven proof casserole dish), melt butter over med-high heat.  Add onions, carrots, and garlic and saute for approximately 10 minutes until onions are transulcent and carrots are soft.
  • At the same time, heat a large saute pan over med-high heat.  Add ground pork, generously season with salt and pepper, and cook until almost no pink appears, breaking up all lumps.  Remove from pan and set aside in separate bowl.
  • Add sirloin to pan and generously season with salt and pepper.  You do not want to cook this all the way, just enough to sear the outside of the meat, but so the inside is still red.  It will finish cooking in the oven.
  • Pre-heat oven to 250º
  • Add the tomatoes and all spices except cocoa powder to the pot with the onions and carrots. Mix well and cook for 2 minutes.
  • Add all the meats and the cocoa powder to the pot.  Mix well.  At this point do a taste test and determine if you need more spices.  You can adjust this any way you like (more salt, more chili powder, etc..)
  • Cover the pot and cook in the oven for 2 hours.  After 2 hours add your beans and cook for 1 more hour.  If you are using dry beans that you’ve soaked as opposed to canned, you will want to cook those the entire time with the chili.

This is what your delicious pot of chili looks like right before you put it in the oven!  I like to serve it with sour ceam, shredded Mexican cheese, and fritos.

IMG_2539[1]

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Beef, Main Course and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

