Indian-Style Black-Eyed Peas with Butternut Squash

Well the holidays are over, the pants are tight, so back to vegetarian I go!  I had to google some new recipes so I could make some really delicious meals to get me back into the swing of things.  This was FABULOUS.  It’s super healthy and nutritious too.  How can you go wrong with healthy AND delicious!?!  It is spicy, so if you don’t like spicy food, just nix the cayenne pepper and chilies.  I found this on a great blog called foodandspice.blogspot.com, but I did make some modifications so my adaptation is below.  This makes a lot, enough for 6-8 people as a side dish, or 4 people for a main dish.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans black-eyed peas, drained (of course you can use dry beans if you have 8 hours to soak them)
  • 1 package pre-cubed butternut squash (if the store has this I opt for it every time, it’s just so much easier)
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 large piece of fresh ginger, peeled and grated
  • 2 fresh chilies, seeded and finely chopped
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • pinch of mustard powder (optional)
  • Sea salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 2 TBSP butter (optional)
  • 2 tsp olive oil

Directions:

  • Coat the butternut squash with the oil and season with salt and pepper.  Roast at 425º for 45 minutes.
  • When cooled, cut into smaller chunks:

Before:

IMG_2513

After:

IMG_2517

  • Combine all spices in a small ramekin or bowl.
  • Heat the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat (or you can use cooking spray if you like).  When hot, add the shallots and cook for about 4-5 minutes.  Add the garlic and chilies and cook for another 2-3 minutes. Toss in the tomato, spices, some salt and pepper, and cook for 1 minute.
  • Add the black-eyed peas and squash to the pan, cover, and cook on lowest heat setting for 15 minutes.

Enjoy!!

IMG_2518

 

 

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Main Course, Side Dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

