Bobby Flay’s Toasted Coconut Cake with Coconut Filling and Coconut Buttercream

I made this on NYE and all I can say is WOW!!!!!!  With all the coconut in this you’d think it would be coconut overload (which would be ok with me) but it’s NOT!  I do have to say this recipe is A LOT of work.  I started part of it first thing in the morning and then it took me 2-3 hours in the afternoon to finish it.  It’s worth it!!!  I am not going to reinvent the wheel here though – I am sending you to Bobby’s recipe on Foodnetwork because I highly recommend you print this one out.  I started by looking at my Ipad and eventually got so annoyed I had to print it.

I did make one mistake. I misread the recipe for the coconut custard and used whites instead of yolks and though it didn’t turn out yellow, it tasted completely delicious anyway! The other thing I changed was I didn’t slice the cake layers in half.  I just made a 2 layer cake.  Next time I think I will slice the layers though so there is even more coconut custard to eat….mmmmm!

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/bobby-flay/throwdowns-toasted-coconut-cake-with-coconut-filling-and-coconut-buttercream-recipe/index.html

Also, if you are nervous about making something complicated or don’t bake much, this blog will be helpful for you.  They made this cake and documented it step by step.

http://noblepig.com/2010/11/bobby-flays-throwdown-toasted-coconut-cake-with-coconut-filling-and-coconut-buttercream/

Here is my finished product:

IMG_2477[1]

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

