Do you love broccoli rabe? Great side dish!

My husband hates it, says it’s too bitter, but I LOVE it!!  I got the kids to eat a few bites tonight but they weren’t thrilled LOL.  Anyway – it’s really easy to make and super healthy.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 head broccoli rabe, ends cut off, and chopped in half
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, cut in half (or any type of tomatoes chopped)
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth (or vegetable broth)
  • Sea salt & freshly ground pepper
  • Crushed red pepper flakes (I used about 2 tsp)
  • A few squirts of lemon juice

Directions:

  • Heat the chicken broth and garlic on med-high heat until bubbling.
  • Add the broccoli rabe and toss it around until it’s all wet and starts to wilt.  Add a healthy dose of salt and pepper, red pepper flakes, cover and cook for 5 minutes.
  • At this point taste the broccoli rabe and add more s&p to your liking, if needed.  Add the tomatoes, lemon juice, cover and simmer (low heat) for 15 minutes.  When I serve it, I use a slotted spoon if there is any chicken broth left.  Enjoy!

IMG_2345[1]

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Side Dish, Vegetarian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

