Delicious homemade vegetable soup in 30 minutes!

One of my favorite things in the winter is to eat hearty, hot, homemade soup while curled up on the couch.  And why not with a healthy, delicious soup like this!  One of my favorite vegetables is mushrooms so this recipe is heavy on that, but you can adjust this in 1,000 ways.  Use this recipe as a base, and add or remove veggies however you prefer!

Ingredients

  • 1 small bunch kale, remove leaves from stems, discard stems
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • Assorted mushrooms rinsed, de-stemmed, and sliced (I use cremini and shitake)
  • 1 cup lentil beans (or white beans), rinsed
  • 32 oz beef broth (or vegetable broth for vegetarian)
  • 8 oz water
  • Red pepper flakes (optional)
  • Sea salt & freshly ground pepper

Directions

  • In large pot add beef broth, water, carrots, and celery and bring to a boil.
  • Add kale, mushrooms, and lentils and continue boiling for 5 minutes.  How many mushrooms you add is totally up to you.  I used about 6 cremini and 4 shitake.  Add a healthy dose of salt and pepper, and about 1 tsp red pepper flakes (if you like yours with a nice kick like me).  Reduce heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes (or more if you prefer your beans softer).  I did not use canned beans in this recipe so the lentils can be cooked longer than 30 minutes.  Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.

AND THAT’S ALL!  Yep – super easy and so healthy you can eat it all day with no guilt.  I take it to work for lunch and then eat it again for dinner!  I like my soups hearty, i.e. FULL of stuff.  If you like yours more soupy, just add more beef broth or water.

Enjoy 🙂

IMG_2211[1]

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Soup, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Delicious homemade vegetable soup in 30 minutes!

  1. leah says:

    nothing better than your cooking in ma-belly

Leave a Reply

