Seriously awesome vegetarian chili!

I recently read “Eat for Health” and I highly recommend it if you are interested in eating healthier and feeling better.  I decided to try it for one week and I am seriously loving it!  I still love meat and don’t plan to cut it out completely, but when you realize how amazing vegetables can taste, why eat meat?  Ok, because meat tastes awesome too 🙂  Anyway – this was my first vegeterian meal and it was SO GOOD I ate leftovers for days.  I adapted this from an Emeril Lagasse recipe on Foodnetwork.  It has a bit of a kick to it, so if you prefer less heat, leave out the jalapeno or don’t add the cayenne.  It quite literally serves an army, but the leftovers will keep for 5 days or you can freeze it.

Ingredients

  • 2 tsp canola oil 
  • 1 large, yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 6 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2  serrano peppers, seeds removed, and chopped
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeds removed, and chopped
  • 2 medium zucchini, sliced thick and quartered
  • 6 carrots, diced
  • 1 package baby bella, cremini, or shitake mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
  • 2 large cans diced tomatoes (don’t drain)
  • 3 cups cooked (a mix) of black and dark or light kidney beans ** See note below
  • 3 TBSP chili powder
  • 2 TBSP cumin
  • 2 tsp hot Hungarian paprika
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro leaves
  • Sea salt & fresh ground pepper to taste (start with 1 tsp each)

Directions

  • In a large, heavy pot (Dutch oven) heat the oil over med-high heat.
  • Add the onion, bell peppers, carrots, garlic, serrano and jalapeno peppers, and cook, stirring, until soft, about 3 minutes.

IMG_2105[1]

  • Add the zucchini and mushrooms, and cook, stirring, until soft, and the vegetables give off their liquid and start to brown around the edges, about 5-6 minutes.

IMG_2106[1]

  • Add the salt & pepper, chili powder, cumin, paprika, and cayenne, and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
  • Add the tomatoes and stir well.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low and cook, partially covered, for 2 hours, stirring occasionally.
  • Remove from heat and stir in the cilantro.  Adjust the seasoning with s&p, to taste.  Serve with a dollop of sour cream.

IMG_2107[1]

**I used Goya beans you buy in a bag and soak overnight.  You can use canned beans which should be rinsed and drained, but the cooking time might be less than 2 hours.

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Main Course, Vegetarian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

