Spinach artichoke dip in a bread coffin!

I was trying to figure out a fun appetizer to bring to a Halloween party and found this on the Woman’s Day website, though I did change it a little. It’s really easy and so cute!

Ingredients

  • 1 deep loaf bread, uncut.  The only one I found that I thought was deep enough was at Panera.

IMG_2073[1]

  • Sea salt & freshly ground pepper
  • 2 boxes frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained (after it’s thawed, I squish the water out in a collander)
  • 2 small jars artichoke hearts, drained (not canned, the jarred ones in oil)
  • 3/4 cup mayonaise
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 6 garlic cloves, minced (this dip is garlicky so you can use less if you like)
  • 1 packet Knorr vegetable dip mix
  • A few plastic skeleton parts, cleaned (found at any party store)
  • 2 wooden dowels or cooking skewers

Directions for dip

  • Chop artichoke hearts

IMG_2076[1] 

  • In medium bowl combine spinach, artichoke hearts, garlic, mayo, sour cream, Knorr packet and mix well.  Taste and add salt & pepper if needed.  Cover and refrigerate until ready to add to bread coffin.  I let the dip sit out for 30 minutes before I served it so it wouldn’t be too cold.  You can heat this in the oven before adding it to the bread coffin if you prefer it hot.

Directions for bread

  • Slice top of bread 3/4 way around leaving long end uncut.  Be careful when cutting – you need to slice as close as you can to the uncut end without cutting through it.  Delicately lift top up and lean against the back of 9×13 pan until you get dowels in (I actually served it in the pan).

IMG_2074[1]

  • Dig out all the bread from the bottom (I didn’t use it for serving.  I fed it to the birds,  but you can toast some chunks and use for serving if you like).

IMG_2077[1]

  • Insert dowel into the top of the loaf on each end and slowly work it down until it reaches the bottom of the loaf.  You need to make sure it’s not showing through the front.  I actually wound up doing on one dowel on the left side, and one in the middle, because the bread was too thin on the right side and the dowel was showing.  Once you get them in, clip the tops off using a scissor or pliers.  You can do this step before digging out the bottom of the loaf if you like.

IMG_2075[1]

  • Add the skeleton parts however you like, and now you are ready to add dip and serve!  My skeleton parts are not plastic because I just happened to have a broken skeleton lol, but the original recipe calls for plastic parts.

IMG_2078[1]

IMG_2079[1]

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

