Roasted mashed parsnips

I really though this was delicious even though my family was just EH about it.  It’s not much work so it’s worth a try to see if you like it!  I used 2 bags of parsnips, but if you’re serving more than 4 adults you may need another bag.

Ingredients

  • 2 bags parsnips, peeled and cut into chunks (remove top and bottom pieces).
  • 3 TBSP butter, melted
  • Small container light cream
  • Dash of nutmeg (optional)
  • Sea salt & pepper

Directions

  • Pre-heat oven to 400º
  • Put parsnips in bowl and coat with butter
  • Spread out on baking sheet in single layer

IMG_2012[1]

  • Roast 20-25 minutes turning once, or until golden brown
  • Put parsnips back into bowl, add 1/2 cup light cream, approx 1 tsp each salt & pepper, dash of nutmeg, and mash with a potato masher.  Taste and continue to add cream and salt & pepper in small increments until you reach desired consistency and taste.
About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Side Dish, Vegetarian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

