SUPER easy apple pie – I promise!!

One of the reasons this apple pie is so easy is because I used Pillsbury ready crusts.  I was starting this at 4pm on a Saturday to be eaten that night, so I didn’t have a lot of time.  And let me tell you, the crust was still delicious!  This really only took me about 30 minutes to prep.  When I have more time I will definitely attempt making my own crust because I have never done that,  but in a pinch this pie is really awesome.  As usual, I googled until I found the perfect recipe. This recipe is all over the internet, it’s called Grandma Ople’s Apple Pie.  I did modify it slightly so my modifications are included in the below recipe.  Except for making my own crust next time, I will probably never switch to another apple pie recipe.  THAT is how good this one is.  ENJOY!

Ingredients

  • 1 package Pillsbury pie crusts (usually found in the refrigerator section near cheese & eggs)
  • 2 TBSP lemon juice (optional)
  • 8 medium sized apples, peeled, cored, and sliced thin (You can use any apples you like – I used a combination of red and granny smith).  After you slice the apples, squirt them with the lemon juice to prevent browning.
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 3 TBSP all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Directions

  • Pre-heat oven to 425°
  • Melt butter in a sauce pan.  Stir in flour to form a paste.  Add white sugar, brown sugar, nutmeg, cinnamon, and water; bring to a boil. Reduce temperature and simmer 5 minutes.
  • Place the bottom crust in your pan.  Fill with apples, mounded slightly.  Gently pour the butter/sugar liquid over the apples.  Reserve approx 3 TBSP to brush over top crust.
  • Place top crust over apples making sure the ends of the top crust are covering the ends of the bottom crust.  It doesn’t have to be perfect (see below).  Using a fork, squish the ends of the top and bottom pie crust together.  Yes, another very technical term!
  • Make an X on the top of the pie using a sharp knife.  Using a pastry brush, brush the remaining butter/sugar liquid all over the crust including the ends.
  • Bake 15 minutes at 425º.  Reduce the temperature to 325º, approx 45 minutes.  I usually check the pie halfway through and if the crust is getting too brown I cover it with aluminum foil.  When the pie is starting to bubble, it’s done!
  • Let the pie cool for 3+ hours before eating (this helps the apples settle and makes for better cutting).

This picture was actually the 1st time I made this pie and didn’t use lemon juice and some of the apples browned a bit.  It did not affect the flavor of the pie AT ALL so that is why I said lemon juice was optional.  The 2nd time I made it I did use the lemon juice.

 IMG_1870[1]

Apples with butter/sugar liquid:

 IMG_1871[1]

Crust before baking:

IMG_1872[1]

 Finished pie – YUM!!

IMG_1874[1]

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Vegetarian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

