Authentic Curry Chicken!

An Indian woman started working in my group last year and I asked her for some authentic recipes with chicken or lamb.  I made this recipe last year with lamb, and last night with chicken.  Both times it was fabulous!  One thing I found interesting is that curry powder isn’t used in India – they use a combination of turmeric, chili powder, coriander, and garam masala to make their dishes.  I had no idea!  I had to adjust the recipe to post it here because she accidentally left out a couple steps (easy to figure out even if I hadn’t) but I also do add more spice to this recipe.  I prepped this recipe right before I cooked it and from prep to plate it was a little over an hour.  The recipe below is adjusted to include my modifications and it easily feeds 4 adults. 

**Just a tip for those that aren’t experienced cooks.  I find the best way to cook to reduce stress and make your cooking experience seamless is to prep everything possible before you actually cook.  So if you have to chop garlic, onion, tomato, potato, etc. do it all before you turn the stove on so you can follow the recipe without burning the onion while you chop the garlic.  Make sense?  I have a set of 5 different sized nested mixing/prep bowls that are invaluable.  You can get them anywhere but here is a link to some at Target.

http://www.target.com/p/room-essentials-mixing-bowl-set/-/A-14234931#prodSlot=medium_1_6

Ingredients

  • 10 chicken thighs – trimmed to removed all fat and cut into chunks **You can use chicken breast but I find thighs stay moister, are more tender, and hold the flavor better
  • 2 TBSP Canola or olive oil
  • 1 large onion onion, chopped
  • 8 large cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 3 TBSP fresh chopped ginger
  • 2 TBSP coriander powder
  • 2 TBSP chili powder (her recipe only calls for 2 tsp but I like it a little spicy – it’s your call)
  • 1 TBSP garam masala
  • 2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 2 big tomatoes, pureed
  • 1/2 – 1 cup water

Directions

  • Heat oil in pan on med-high heat.  Add onion and cook until translucent about 5 minutes.
  • Add garlic and ginger and  saute for 2 minutes
  • Add tomato puree + dry spices and cook until it leaves oil (about 5 minutes)
  • Add chicken, 1/2 cup water, mix well, cover, turn stove to simmer and let cook for about 15 minutes.
  • At ths point you may or may not need additional water.  Remove the cover and see how thick the sauce has become.  If too thin, leave uncovered and cook for an additonal 10 minutes.  If not enough sauce or too thick, add 1/2 cup more water and let simmer for 10 more minutes.

This is what the simmering chicken should look like at this point:

IMG_1958[1]

The recipe says to serve this over Jasmine rice.  Of course in an attempt to eat low carb but still delicious, I decided to try this over shiritaki (tofu) noodles.  They are SO easy to make.  All you need to do is drain/rinse them, heat a pan, throw them in, and in about 10 minutes they are ready to eat.  They are only 4 g carbs per 2/3 cup which is WAY less than rice or pasta.  1 bag feeds 2 people.  I served the curry chicken over the noodles and it was FANTASTIC.  I was worried about the noodles but honestly, they were just as good as any rice underneath.

Finished product – yes I know I need some work on my pictures.  This is only my 2nd post so give me some time 🙂

IMG_1959[1]

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Main Course and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

