Asian braised short ribs

One of my favorite things to make and eat is short ribs!!  If cooked properly, the meat just melts right off the bone.  You can also buy boneless which I do when I add it to chili (slow cooked), but for this type of meal you need bone in.  In an effort to lose a few lbs and eat low carb, I served this over mashed cauliflower instead of mashed potatoes.  I also served it with a side of Asian slaw.  I do tend to make complicated (time consuming) recipes as you’ll see over time, but this one really was only about 30 minutes total prep.  I really prefer this type of make ahead meal (or prep ahead meal) when I have company over because then I am not stuck in the kitchen slaving over dinner while my company is relaxing with a drink!

For the mashed cauliflower all I did was boil it until fork tender and mash it with salt (always sea salt), pepper (always fresh ground pepper), reduced fat sour cream, a touch of milk, and a little bit of parmesan cheese.  You always start with just a little s&p and keep tasting until you get it right.  You can always add more salt but you can’t take it away!  I made this 2 hours before we ate, transferred it to an oven safe bowl covered with aluminum foil, and kept on warm until we we were ready to eat.

This is the recipe for the Asian slaw – I got it from Food Network courtesy of Dave Lieberman.  I am BIG on reading reviews before making a recipe and based on reviews, this is how I’ve adapted the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch (6 large) green onions, trimmed and thinly sliced
  • 1 (16-ounce) bags shredded coleslaw mix
  • 1 small red onion, thinly sliced (optional)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1/8 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons grated fresh ginger (from about a 1-inch piece)
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Asian sesame oil
  • 2 teaspoons sesame seeds, optional
  • Ground sea salt & pepper to taste (I usually leave the s&p as the last ingredient, taste it first, add the s&p, taste again, and continue until you get it right).

Directions

Combine coleslaw, green onions, and red onion in bowl.  Whisk remaining ingredients together in small bowl and toss with coleslaw, serve immediately.  You can make the dressing a few hours in advance and let it sit out at room temp until ready to use.  Don’t toss dressing with coleslaw sooner than 30 minutes before serving to avoid wilting.

And now for the main course…it comes from a WS Essentials of Slow Cooking cookbook (this cookbook is amazing, you will see many recipes from here).  This recipe was DELISH!!  I did make changes to the recipe; my adaptations are included:

Ingredients

  • 4 TBSP all-purpose flour
  • Sea salt & freshly ground pepper
  • 5-6 lb beef short rib, bone in (I had 10 short ribs)
  • 2 TBSP cup canola oil
  • 2 TBSP butter
  • 6 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 6 green onions (white & green parts), thinly sliced
  • 2 TBSP fresh chopped ginger
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 TBSP lemongrass (from a tube in the produce section)
  • 1-2 cups beef broth
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup hoison sauce
  • 1/2 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sriracha sauce

In a large frying pan, heat canola oil and butter over med-high heat.  In a bowl, combine flour with 1 TBSP ground seat salt and 1 TBSP fresh ground pepper.  Dredge ribs in seasoned flour, shaking off excess.  Working in batches if necessary, cook ribs on all sides except bone until crispy, approx 3 min per side.  Remove from pan and lay in dutch oven bone side up. 

Ribs browning:

IMG_1949[1]

Pre-heat oven to 300 degrees.  Add garlic, green onions, ginger, red pepper flakes, and lemongrass to pan and saute over med-high heat until fragrant, approx 2 mins.  Pour in 1 cup beef broth to deglaze the pan, scraping up any browned bits from the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon.  Stir in the soy sauce, hoison sauce, vinegar, brown sugar, and sririacha.  Bring to a boil and pour over ribs.  If ribs are not covered at least halfway, add more beef broth.

The recipe actually called for the ribs to be cooked at 350 for 2 hours, but when I slow cook things, I never go higher than 300.  So I cooked it on 300 degrees and checked it after 2 hours; it was nowhere near tender enough so I turned it down to 250 and cooked it for 90 more minutes.  Afterwards, I removed as much fat as I could from the top using a ladle and set that aside for either future use in cooking or garbage if you wish.  I then added a good portion of the remaining sauce to a heated pan.  Then I VERY slowly added flour (1 TBSP at a time until desired consistency) while whisking to make a nice thick gravy to pour over the ribs.

Finished product 🙂

IMG_1952[1]

About popecooks

I am a mom of 2, happily married, work full time, and one of my favorite things to do is cook elaborate meals on the weekends! I love to cook (and eat) but don't have much time to cook during the week. I also love to read, I'm a movie junkie, and if I win the lottery I will spend a good portion of my time traveling the world! Soccer has also been a great love of mine - I still play soccer (run a league in NJ) and have been playing since I was 4.
This entry was posted in Beef, Main Course and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Asian braised short ribs

  1. Genevieve says:

    I am totally going to try this!! YUM

  2. kate says:

    Amazing!!

Leave a Reply

